• 
 
 

 

Master 1



First-year Master’s Program in Geopolitics

Admission Requirements:

  • Bachelor’s Degree in Geography, Development Studies, Law, Sociology, Anthropology, Economics, Foreign Languages, History, Political Science, or any other major with 50% of the coursework in the intended master’s program.
  • Validation of prior experience (validation des acquis de l’expérience – VAE)
  • Research project. The first year of the program is devoted to learning the methods used in geopolitics via a personal research project with maps (cartography training is included in the program) and field studies. It is therefore necessary to have a topic that is suitable for conducting interviews that can enhance the understanding of a specific situation, in a geographical area that is not too large. The field study can be done in France or anywhere else in the world, provided that the student speaks the local language or is learning it and is able to finance transportation and a three-week stay. Language skills and budget capacity are therefore to be taken into consideration when choosing a geographical area and elaborating a research project.

Learning through Research

The first year of the master’s program is meant to develop students’ autonomy by having them learn and apply the methods used in geopolitics to a specific case study. Students write a 100-page thesis on a topic that they choose with the approval of the professors. They are expected to move from the stage of collecting information (summarizing published works) to that of producing new information that is solidly based on a geopolitical line of reasoning. This is why first-year courses are essentially devoted to methodology, with most emphasis given to the thesis, to spatial analysis, to cartography, and to the field study, during which the student must rely on his or her own resources. Thirty pages must be written and submitted by the end of the first three months of the program in order to reduce the chance of writing anxiety, which is frequent among many students and can sometimes lead them to abandon their studies. This method has proven to be effective, given the high proportion of theses completed each year. Courses take place mainly during the first semester so that students have more time to conduct their research (sometimes in faraway countries), to reflect, and to write during the second semester. A seminar dedicated to following up on students’ research allows for coaching throughout the second semester. This is designed to encourage students to see their thesis through to the end. By building students’ confidence in their ability to reflect and produce knowledge, they become more and more autonomous, which will allow them to take on the responsibilities that will be asked of them in their future career.

The skills that are worked on are the following:

  • Multi-scalar spatial analysis of complex situtatinos
  • Interdisciplinary analytical approaches to studying conflicts
  • Analyzing discourse and representations
  • Analyzing the relations between institutional, political, political and social stakeholders
  • Mastering the critical use of information found on the Internet.
  • Work autonomy (the first-year master’s thesis is written alone)
  • Mastering cartography. Introductory or complimentary cartography training is an essential part of geopolitics, in the sense that spatial analysis is used as a starting point for thought and reflection, and geopolitical analyses are represented graphically.
  • Conducting interviews
  • Mastering the use of software
  • Mastering English, Spanish, German, or another common language

Design of the first-year master’s program in geopolitics [fr] : Présentation du Master

First-year course descriptions [fr] : Descriptif des cours du Master 1 géopolitique

Grading

  • Students must validate coursework and have a committee composed of at least two tenured professors validate their thesis. The grade on the thesis corresponds to the honorable mention given on the diploma.

Admission to the second-year program

  • Students must validate their coursework: regular attendance, coursework handed in, involvement in the classwork and/or tests.
  • They must also receive the grade of at least 12/20 on their thesis (honorable mention “assez bien”).

International mobility

  • See the “international” section

Preparation for the job world

  •  First-year master’s students must concentrate on writing their thesis. Internships are not authorized unless they are in the institution or organization under study, allowing the student to have first-hand access to primary sources.

 

For more information on studies, grants, housing, and foodservice, please visit the ministerial website: http://www.etudiant.gouv.fr

haut-de-page 


Institut Français de Géopolitique

Université Paris 8 — 2, rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis Cedex
Téléphone : 01 49 40 73 00 — Télécopie : 01 49 40 73 01 —

• 
 
 

 

Master 1



Première année du Master en Géopolitique

Conditions d’accès :

  • Licence de géographie, d’aménagement, de droit, de sociologie, d’anthropologie, d’économie, de langues, d’histoire, de sciences politiques ou toute autre licence comportant 50% d’enseignements fondamentaux du master envisagé.
  • Validation des acquis de l’expérience (VAE).
  • Projet de recherche. La première année est consacrée à l'apprentissage de la méthode par le biais d'une recherche personnelle avec des cartes (apprentissage de la cartographie inclus dans la formation) et des enquêtes de terrain. Il faut donc avoir un sujet qui permette de faire des interviews pour comprendre une situation précise, dans un territoire pas trop grand, sur la France ou n'importe quel endroit dans le monde à condition d'en connaître la langue ou d'être en train de l'étudier et de pouvoir financer le transport ainsi que trois semaines sur place. Ces données linguistiques et financières font donc partie du choix du terrain et donc de l’élaboration du projet de recherche.

Une formation par la recherche

Consacrée à l’apprentissage de la méthode géopolitique par l’élaboration d’un travail de recherche personnelle de 100 pages sur un sujet choisi par l’étudiant en accord avec les enseignants, la première année de Master est conçue comme une année d’autonomisation dans le travail et d’acquisition de la méthode sur un cas précis. Passer du stade de la collecte d’information (synthèse des travaux publiés) à celle de la production d’informations nouvelles, insérées et maîtrisée dans un raisonnement géopolitique. C’est pourquoi les cours de première année sont essentiellement méthodologiques et l’accent est porté sur le mémoire, sur l’apprentissage de l’analyse spatiale, de la cartographie ainsi que de l’enquête de terrain au cours de laquelle l’étudiant est seul avec lui-même. Trente pages rédigées doivent être rendues à l’issue des trois premiers mois afin de lever l’angoisse de l’écriture si fréquente chez les étudiants et à l’origine de très nombreux abandons. Cette méthode originale a fait ses preuves comme le montre la proportion importante de mémoires achevés chaque année. Les candidats en reprise d’études, inscrits par le biais de la validation des acquis, peuvent ainsi progresser à partir de leur expérience. Les cours sont concentrés au premier semestre afin de libérer le temps de l’enquête (amenant souvent à des voyages lointains), de la réflexion, et de l’écriture. Un séminaire de suivi de la recherche permet des les encadrer durant le deuxième semestre afin d’éviter les abandons. C’est en lui donnant confiance dans ses capacités à penser et à produire une information que l’étudiant acquiert peu à peu une autonomie efficace qui le prépare à pouvoir assumer des responsabilités dans sa future carrière professionnelle.

Les compétences visées sont :

  • Analyse spatiale multi scalaire de situations complexes.
  • Approche analytique pluridisciplinaire d'une situation de conflit.
  • Analyse des discours et représentations.
  • Analyse des jeux d’acteurs institutionnels, politiques et économiques et sociaux.
  • Maîtrise critique de la recherche sur Internet. Autonomie dans le travail (le mémoire en M1 est un travail solitaire).
  • Maîtrise de la cartographie. La formation en cartographie, initiale pour les uns, complémentaire pour les autres, est spécifique à la géopolitique en ce sens qu’il s’agit d’orienter la réflexion à partir de l’analyse spatiale et de traduire graphiquement la dimension géopolitique.
  • Maîtrise de l’interview.
  • Maîtrise de plusieurs logiciels.
  • Maîtrise de l’anglais ou de l'espagnol ou de l’allemand ou une autre langue parlée par de nombreux locuteurs.

Présentation du Master

Descriptif des cours du Master 1 géopolitique

Modalités de contrôle des connaissances :

  • Validation des EC et notation du mémoire par le jury composé d’au moins deux enseignants titulaires. La note du mémoire correspond à la mention de diplôme.
Passage en M2 :
  • Validation des EC : présence régulière, rendu des travaux demandés, implication dans le travail et/ou examen sur table.
  • Obtention d’une note minimum de 12 au mémoire (mention assez bien).

Mobilité

Voir les pages de la rubrique « international »

Éléments de professionnalisation

  • Les étudiants de master première année doivent se concentrer sur la rédaction de leur mémoire. Le stage est donc déconseillé à moins qu'il se déroule dans l’institution ou l’organisme étudié, permettant ainsi d'accéder à des sources de première main.

 

Pour toutes autres  informations relatives aux études, aux bourses, au logement, à la restauration...  connectez-vous au portail numérique du Ministère :  http://www.etudiant.gouv.fr

haut-de-page 


Institut Français de Géopolitique

Université Paris 8 — 2, rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis Cedex
Téléphone : 01 49 40 73 00 — Télécopie : 01 49 40 73 01 —